reluctant to post

Was running through my tag surfer this morning and came across a post by an anti-theist. I would post a link, but I can’t find the page now. It contained a cartoon that lampooned theists (probably mostly Christians) who become emotional and abusive when they percieve atheists’ appeals to logic as threats to their faith. It was actually a funny cartoon, even if it was fairly mean-spirited. If I find it again, I’ll definitely post a link.

Two things bothered me about the post. 1) It was a sadly accurate depiction of how some folks defend their faith. (This is not finger pointing on my part. I’ve been there, if not in defense of my own faith, then in defense of some other ideal I held on to.) 2) Again, as I’m finding with increasing frequency, it was plain antagonistic. The cartoon itself not so much, but the text that followed said something pretty close to, “Wanna have an argument, churchy?” Well, no. First of all, I don’t care to convince you of anything, so why argue? But secondly, I actually don’t even want to have a conversation with you if you’re going to be dismissive and disrespectful even before we start. I have run across many level-headed atheists and agnostics here on facebook with whom I disagree (obviously), but whom I have to respect, not only because they’ve come across their skepticism through honest deliberation, but also because they are articulate, kind and patient in describing their points of view.

I’m not sure why I’m posting this. I guess it’s just something that sticks in my craw when I run across it.

Leave a Reply

