Zoinks!

Hi. I’m back. It’s been a couple of weeks since I’ve posted. Much zaniness in my personal life (including the death of my sister – long story and lots of difficult emotions associated with that) has kept me away. I’m in the middle of the last academic push before the Thanksgiving holiday, so I really have NO time to be tooling about on wordpress, but for sanity’s sake, I’ve got to put this out there.

Yesterday while taking a break from the insanity that is Exegetical Greek, I passed by the “free crap table.” Everyone is familiar with this concept: you have some crap to get rid of, you put it on the table for someone else to take. You’re in need of someone else’s discarded crap, you go to the table and you take it. It’s a strange system that smacks of Communism, so I’m surprised anyone allows it, yet there you have it.

Anyway, I spied a Scooby-Doo coloring book which someone had deemed as expendable crap. I seized my opportunity. It’s not that I really wanted to color – it’s just that I had a crazy idea to translate the captions into Koine Greek. I still may do that when I have time, but in thumbing through the captions while doing a feasibility test vis a vis the translation, here is what I ran across.

ruh-roh!

ruh-roh!

What. The. Very. Hell. Were. They. Thinking? Could this be a boner, er, gaff on the part of the artist? Might they not know that their illustration of Shaggy would inspire adolescents of all ages to mentally insert raging wood beneath Shaggy’s frock? Like, shit marie, Scoob. Jinkies, even.

3 Responses to “Zoinks!”

  1. I don’t know you at all, but I am very sorry about your sister.

  2. Thank you so much. I’ve been reading your musings as you deal with loss, and they’ve been very helpful. Bless you.

  3. Rob, I’m so sorry to hear about your sister. Let me know if there’s anything I can do.

    I have to say, only you could find that in a pile of crap.

Leave a Reply

