Rob Bell, Sexual Intellectual

Yeah, I bought it. Today. Between dogs barking to get outside then immediately barking to come back in, and telephones ringing, and potty breaks, and the need to finish Genesis from chapter 31 onward for a church group meeting tomorrow, I haven’t gotten very far into it. In fact, I’ve only finished the first two chapters.

Having said all that, let me say this: Rob Bell is the Sexual Intellectual.

So far, Sex God isn’t really about sex. Not in the way one normally thinks of it. Bell has barely (ahem) mentioned genitals, down there, pee-pee parts, wee-wees and hoo-haas. He is, as I had gathered from the review I mentioned yesterday, talking about sexuality in terms of identity, humanity (human-ness), connectedness and unity.

Crap. Gotta run. I’ll update this later.

[Update on 1 Dec 07: No update for a while to come. I’ve been distracted by other shiny objects, and have forgotten much of what I had hoped to say about Bell’s book. It wouldn’t be fair to post from memory only, though what I’d write would certainly be flattering. Sex God left me with a good impression. But I’ll just start a new topic when I get back around to re-reading it.]

[Update on 8 Dec 07:  There’s a guy I know at church, who faces personal struggles with sex and parameters.  I say this, not as a cut-down, but rather just as a fact.  He’s a good guy with an off-kilter perspective.  He’s not a perv or anything like that, but I thought he could benefit from reading this book.  I’ve loaned it to him, thereby effectively eliminating any possibility of my writing a review in the  future.  Ah, just as well.  I’ve got a lot of other crap to do, anyway.]

One Response to “Rob Bell, Sexual Intellectual”

  1. Ah, I see you’ve started then. I should check your most up-to-date post before commenting on old ones, shouldn’t I?

Leave a Reply

